San Diego Comic-Con – Movie Trailers

terrible turtles
Well they’ve got the mutant bit right anyway.

Before we begin let me just say never Google “terrible cosplay”. This post has been created via speech recognition while I wait on the bleach in my eyes cooling down.

So yes the world famous San Diego Comic-Con has just wrapped up over in the States. It’s the biggest geek-out in the world as the major studios showcase their latest and greatest movies and TV shows in addition to all sorts of comic book, video game and pop culture shenanigans. And cosplay. Lots of cosplay. Some amazing, some like the picture above. Almost 200,000 people attend the event which is held over four days every July and it’s become the place to be when it comes to sneaking a peek at what’s coming soon in the entertainment world.

As part of the value add package I want to grow in MBSFMB (it’ll DEFINITELY catch on) I thought I’d round up some of the new trailers for big films which debuted over the weekend. I mean sure you can get them online but I’ve selected what I think are the cream of the crop so you (a) don’t need to search and (b) get bona fide guaranteed expert guidance from your friendly neighbourhood blogger. This post focuses on films and I’ll be firing up another looking at TV shows shortly. I know! Super fun AND helpful!

First up was a new trailer for Thor: Ragnarok which is the latest instalment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and it’s been revealed this will link straight into the much anticipated Avengers: Infinity War which is due in 2018. Check it out below:

This looks awesome. I actually swore out loud at one scene and I was watching this myself while Mrs Blogger was in another room trying to avoid my latest bout of over excited trailer viewing. The banter between Thor and Hulk is hilarious and the dynamic between them looks like it will make for essential viewing. That aside the action sequences look suitably epic what with Ragnorak being the Norse version of the Apocalypse . Roll on the end of October!

The next trailer to catch my attention was for the new Stephen Spielberg movie Ready Player One. It’s based on the wildly successful book of the same name which admittedly I haven’t actually read but having watched this trailer I am very excited for the film:

Iron Giant? Freddy Krueger? A mother-flippin’ Delorean from Back to the Future? More 1980s pop culture references you can shake a stick at with that sort of action in a virtual reality based world? I’m in. Very excited about this one.

It’s fair to say that DC Comics haven’t had the same stellar success as Marvel when it comes to setting up a multi-film, multi-character spanning universe but with the new trailer for Justice League (due out November this year) it looks like they may have finally got the mix of characters, action and story right. Wonder Woman was a huge hit (rightfully so) and based on this clip I think DC are going to keep up that form:

Looks good doesn’t it? The action looks great, there are scenes in daylight you can follow and it feels genuinely exciting. Should be good fun.

When it came out back in 2014, Kingsman: The Secret Service was a real surprise to a lot of people. Based on a comic book series by Mark Millar and Dave Gibbons it was a violent, hilarious and stupidly entertaining tale about a young boy who is recruited by a secretive spy agency. If you haven’t seen it check it out. The second film looks like it’s taken everything to the next level. Hopefully not like the level Ice Cube took the xXx films to before Vin Diesel came back in and…well…actually…yeah…hmmm…nuff said.

What a riot. Genuinely looks so much fun it should be illegal. It’s out in September and I can’t wait!

Well that’s your lot for my highlights of the movie trailers released. If you want any more you’re on your own, I’ve got to go off and sort the TV post. I have left a blank space below for the two I REALLY wanted to see – Star Wars: The Last Jedi and Avengers: Infinity War. There was footage shown of Avengers which blew the roof off of the main hall at Comic-Con and from reading the description (couldn’t help myself) I can see why. The sooner Marvel get that online the better!!

Leave a Reply

