Feature – Half year report 2017

halftime report
Copyright cnbc.com

With June just ending we are now officially halfway through the year so I thought it would be a good point to stop and take a look back on the first six months of movies I’ve seen in 2017 and share with you what I think are my top five best and bottom five worst of the year so far. I know – that’s good of me isn’t it? You are most welcome.

As regular readers may know I have a Cineworld Unlimited card and I am not afraid to use it! I’ve had one since 2003 and reckon I must have seen at least 12 films since then. My yearly total has actually been growing year after year and I’ve set myself the task of using the card at least 100 times in 2017. It’s uses of the card I’m counting and not actually films so I am allowing for multiple screenings. Not sure there are 100 films out there I may want to see so as it’s my challenge I set the rules πŸ™‚

So as of the end of June I was on 53. Not bad! A few multiple viewings in there but considering I only used the card 46 times in 2014, 67 in 2015 and 93 in 2016 I think that’s a pretty good showing. And that was with being away on holiday for two weeks in June. By the way I ran out of time to do a preview of my recommendations for July so here’s the abridged version – Spider-Man, Spider-Man, Spider-Man and War for the Planet of the Apes. And Spider-Man. Normal service will be resumed for August. Spider-Man.

Sitting on 53 I am looking good to break the 100. July is busy for movies so I’m reckoning on being on the 60 mark by the end of the month. It is actually a much harder challenge than it might seem but I’m stupidly competitive even with myself so it’s all good fun.

On to the best and worst of the year based on what I’ve seen then! Those who know me well will appreciate that asking me to choose things is a big ask. I love all of my favourite movies like my children. Which admittedly I don’t have so that’s a stupid analogy. What I mean so asking me to pick from them is hard! Although parents always have a favourite but they just don’t see for fear of upsetting the others. Yes you do.

Right enough stalling. Here’s the bottom five so we can end on a high with the best of the bunch!

Coming in joint last we have Moonlight (enough with the gasping you at the back, this isn’t the Oscars) and Sleepless. I don’t know how Moonlight won the Best Picture Oscar. It’s boring. Mahershala Ali won Best Supporting Actor and he was in it for about 20 minutes. And all he did was hold the kid up in the sea. Well that was quite good I suppose as the kid didn’t fall in and drown so maybe that’s why he bagged it. I will caveat that view by saying I really like Ali in pretty much everything else he’s done. Sorry mate.

But it’s really not very good. The main character is annoying at each stage of his life and it’s just not as amazing as the critics and luvvies think it is. Just my two cents. Sleepless was just as bad and in fact Mrs Blogger and I walked out of it. A cop thriller written by a dropped typewriter it was just bad bad bad and I would thoroughly recommend never watching it.

Making up the bottom five are Silence, CHiPs and Jackie. A real mixed bag there! Silence is about 19 hours of my life I’ve never getting back, CHiPs is about as funny as getting ran over by a 747 and Jackie was slow, dull and featured an accent I’m not sure the real life Jackie spoke with. If she did she should have changed it because the Natalie Portman version was incredibly annoying.

Honorary two fingers for rubbishness but not quite as bad as that lot go to xXx (the Neymar cameo gave me splinters) and Live by Night which was Ben Affleck showing you can make dull and uninteresting gangster films.

On to the good stuff now and it’s been difficult to separate out just five! Worthy films which just sit outside my favourites so far but not by much are Manchester by the Sea, Lion, Hacksaw Ridge, Hidden Figures and The Founder.

All but number one are in no particular order at this stage. I’ll settle on a final list in my end of the year review – honest! So apart from numero uno we have Get Out, La La Land, Logan, Free Fire and John Wick: Chapter 2.

The more mathematically skilled of you will notice that’s five films and I’ve said those ones are the top five apart from numero uno. “But that’s six you dummy!” I hear you cry. And you’d be right. There goes my indecisive nature. I couldn’t cut one.

Get Out is an original and thrilling movie, La La Land is a joyous musical with heart, Logan is just outstanding, Free Fire is a whole lot of fun and John Wick: Chapter 2 is all out nuts. Five very good and entertaining films – all worth seeing if you haven’t already.

Breaking out the drum roll and it will come as no surprise that my number one film of 2017 (so far) is Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2. I’ve got the soundtrack on permanently and saw it five times on the big screen. It’s one of the best comic book movies in years and is top for me because of the humour, visuals, soundtrack and…well just about everything. It’s awesome.

So there you have it. A busy old year of film so far and those are in my humble opinion the best and worst of what’s been out. Given I’ve seen a lot across the board I believe this is an excellent overview πŸ™‚

Let’s see what the lists look like at the end of the year! Will Spider-Man and The Last Jedi break into to the top five? Will Moonlight stay bottom? Stay tuned and thanks for reading as always.

 

 

Leave a Reply

